Skip to content
August 19, 2011 / lindakcampos

We really are never alone…

My dentist is amazing! He is meticulous when it comes to making my new crown fit just right. I really appreciate that. He’s a middle aged, Asian man who stares quietly out the window for a moment when talking about his wife. She has been through cancer treatment and he shares this with me because I have been through it too. I understand his momentary, quiet reflection because I have seen my husband react the same way to the memory of a very dark time. While I probably have more in common with his wife than with him, it helps to know that there are others who can understand what you’ve been through, especially for so many who are diagnosed with cancer or any other disease and initially feeling all alone. There is definitely strength in numbers and we need to help each other, right? Well, today he helped me get a new, perfectly fitting, tooth and I offered him a dose of encouragement.

Leave a Reply

